Thundercat Shares New Single “Fair Chance”

New album 'It Is What It Is' out next month

Thundercat Shares New Single “Fair Chance”

New album 'It Is What It Is' out next month

Today, Thundercat shares new single “Fair Chance”, featuring Ty Dolla $ign and Lil B, the third single off of It Is What It Is, out April 3rd on Brainfeeder. The new track, produced by Sounwave (Kendrick Lamar / TDE), shows off a more somber side to the upcoming LP.

The sentimental “Fair Chance” thoughtfully reflects on the loss of a loved one, in this case Thundercat’s dear friend Mac Miller. As his own star rises, Thundercat notes how his connections, romantic or platonic, are never the same again. A strummed guitar wistfully carries him along, but the steady beat beneath it all keeps him grounded to this new reality.

This song is about Mac… when he passed it shook the ground for the artist community,” says Stephen Bruner. “Ty’s a strong dude and when he heard the song he knew exactly what it should be. I was there when he recorded it. We talked about what it was, and he did what he felt was right to it, and I love what he did.

Stream “Fair Chance” HERE

Ahead of “Fair Chance” came lead single “Black Qualls”, which featured Steve Lacy (The Internet) and Funk icon Steve Arrington (Slave), and follow-up “Dragonball Durag”, the latter featuring a music video starring HAIM, Kali Uchis, and Quinta Brunson. The forthcoming album, produced by Flying Lotus and Thundercat, also features musical contributions from Childish Gambino, Kamasi Washington, BADBADNOTGOOD, Louis Cole, and Zack Fox.

Watch “Dragonball Durag” HERE

This album is about love, loss, life and the ups and downs that come with that,” Bruner says. “It’s a bit tongue-in-cheek, but at different points in life you come across places that you don’t necessarily understand… some things just aren’t meant to be understood.”

Thundercat has had to postpone his North American and European headline tours due to the Coronavirus outbreak. The tour dates that have been postponed will be rescheduled – ticket holders please stay tuned for further announcements.


1. Lost In Space / Great Scott / 22-26

2. Innerstellar Love

3. I Love Louis Cole (feat. Louis Cole)

4. Black Qualls (feat. Steve Lacy, Steve Arrington, & Childish Gambino)

5. Miguel’s Happy Dance

6. How Sway

7. Funny Thing

8. Overseas (feat. Zack Fox)

9. Dragonball Durag

10. How I Feel

11. King Of The Hill

12. Unrequited Love

13. Fair Chance (feat. Ty Dolla $ign & Lil B)

14. Existential Dread

15. It Is What It Is (feat. Pedro Martins)

Preorder It Is What It Is HERE

Bass Magazine   By: Bass Magazine

If you're enjoying this story, please support Bass Magazine by making a donation!
You won't find this content anywhere else, and we have so much more coming soon.
A donation will help us continue to bring the future of bass to you, our beloved readers. Thank you!