Michael League of Snarky Puppy to Release Debut Solo Album

'So Many Me' is due out June 25th with the first single "Right Where You Fall" out now

Michael League of Snarky Puppy to Release Debut Solo Album

'So Many Me' is due out June 25th with the first single "Right Where You Fall" out now

Four-time Grammy award-winning singer, songwriter, producer and multi-instrumentalist Michael League will share his debut solo album So Many Me on June 25 via GroundUP Music. The record’s first single “Right Where I Fall” is out today. So Many Me demonstrates an introspective turn and culminating moment for League, the founder of Snarky Puppy and musical director for David Crosby, showcasing the mastery of craft that has made his impact on the industry indelible. The record represents a milestone for an artist whose seismic career (marked at its core by collaboration) has redefined instrumental music. 

While the record might depart from Snarky Puppy’s jazz-forward sound and Bokanté’s global beats, League considers So Many Me to be a full-circle moment of sorts. “It’s really just an extension of the work I’ve been doing over the last 17 years,” he says. “As is the case with almost every project I participate in, I’m just trying to combine different things I love in order to create something that has meaning to me.” “Right Where I Fall” is a particularly personal song for League, offering insight into the therapeutic process of creating album with lyrics that speak to the way that he experiences self-destructive emotions.

Quarantine found League in a tiny apartment in Cadiz, Spain. With no Snarky Puppy projects or major production gigs on the horizon, he finally found himself with the time to compile the footnotes, drafts and melodies he’d collected over the years with the intent of pulling together a solo record. “I had the idea of creating a textural landscape with really thick vocal harmonies; a mix of Turkish, Moroccan and Kurdish percussion but also of synthesizers,” says League. “It was very clear in my mind.” Throughout the album, League rediscovers the music of his own past, explores 1980’s soundscapes and drops in references spanning from Tears for Fears to Talking Heads

Michael League is a 4-time Grammy award-winning multi-instrumentalist, producer, composer, arranger, songwriter, label owner and bandleader based out of Catalonia, Spain. Beyond founding and bandleading Snarky Puppy and Bokanté, Michael has worked with and produced a diverse range of artists including David Crosby, Esperanza Spalding, Michael McDonald, Kirk Franklin, Jacob Collier, Laura Mvula, Chris Potter, TOKiMONSTA, Susana Baca and more. So Many Me was co-produced and mixed by 2-time Grammy award-winner Nic Hard and mastered by Grammy award-winning engineer Emily Lazar, whose wins and nominations include her work on Colors by Beck, Chandelier by Sia, Djesse Vol. 3 by Jacob Collier, Wasting Light by the Foo Fighters and more.

So Many Me Tracklist  

1. Sentinel Species  

2. Me, Like You  

3. Right Where I Fall  

4. Since You’ve Been By  

5. I Wonder Who You Know  

6. Touch Me  

7. Best of All Time  

8. In Your Mouth  

9. Ever the Actor  

10. Fireside  

11. The Last Friend

Pre-Order the Album: Here

Bass Magazine   By: Bass Magazine