Roger Waters “This is Not a Drill” Tour Recap

The Pink Floyd legend thrilled fans with an epic show filled with hits and classics

Roger Waters “This is Not a Drill” Tour Recap

The Pink Floyd legend thrilled fans with an epic show filled with hits and classics

Photo by Kate Izor

After two years of postponements from the Covid-19 Pandemic, Roger Waters finally began his This is Not a Drill tour, which made its way to the Golden 1 Arena in Sacramento, CA. Best known for his work as the iconic bassist of Pink Floyd, Waters didn’t pick up a bass until the second half of the show. The setlist is comprised of songs from The Wall, The Dark Side of the Moon, Wish You Were Here, The Final Cut, and Animals. The show was broken into two sets beginning with an audio-only version of “Comfortably Numb.” Following that a massive screen rose and Waters came walking out and took the mic to begin “Happiest Days of Our Lives,” “Another Brick in the Wall Parts II and III.” Set one also included “Have a Cigar,” “Wish You Were Here,” and “Shine On You Crazy Diamond” (Parts VI-VII, V) all from Wish You Were Here, with the final song of the first half “Sheep” from Animals. Set one also includes Waters’ newest song “The Bar.”

Photo by Kate Izor

The second half was set with banners with the hammers from The Wall movie and the screen had a virtual wall. Out came waters in his black trench coat and sunglasses just like he wore on The Wall tour and kicked off set two with “In the Flesh,” followed by “Run Like Hell,” both from The Wall. The giant pig came flying around during “In the Flesh” with the words “F*ck the Poor.”

Photo by Alex Kluft

Waters ended this epic show with “Outside the Wall,” the final song of The Wall, which is also the last song the three surviving members of Pink Floyd played together. From The Wall album Waters had sung lead or shared vocals on all except three songs.

Bassist Gus Seyffert (Photo by Alex Kluft)

To close out the show Waters led the band around the stage while still playing the song then each member walked down the stairs to the floor one by one and finished the show backstage which could be seen on the video screens. While still onstage each member was shown with their name as you would see in a movie or TV opening or closing credits. Waters incredible band is made up of vocalists Amanda Belair and Shanay Johnson, keyboardist/guitarist Jon Carin, guitarists Jonathan Wilson and Dave Kilminster who also sings Gilmour’s vocals, bassist/guitarist Gus Seyffert, saxophonist Seamus Blake, keyboardist Robert Walter, and drummer Joey Waronker.


1. Comfortably Numb- Pink Floyd

2. The Happiest Days of Our Lives- Pink Floyd

3. Another Brick in the Wall, Part 2-Pink Floyd

4. Another Brick in the Wall, Part 3- Pink Floyd

5. The Powers That Be

6. The Bravery of Being Out of Range

7. The Bar

8. Have a Cigar- Pink Floyd

9. Wish You Were Here- Pink Floyd

10. Shine On You Crazy Diamond (Parts VI-,VII,V)

11. Sheep- Pink Floyd

Set 2

12. In the Flesh- Pink Floyd

13. Run Like Hell- Pink Floyd

14. Deja Vu

15. Deja Vu (Reprise)

16. Is This the Life We Really Want?

17. Money- Pink Floyd

18. Us and Them- Pink Floyd

19. Any Colour You Like- Pink Floyd

20. Brain Damage- Pink Floyd

21. Eclipse- Pink Floyd

22. Two Suns in the Sunset- Pink Floyd

23. The Bar (Reprise)

24. Outside the Wall- Pink Floyd

Alex Kluft   By: Alex Kluft