Motörhead Releases 40th Anniversary Edition of ‘Another Perfect Day’

Forty years on, the album holds its own as this most surreal detour for the band

Motörhead Releases 40th Anniversary Edition of ‘Another Perfect Day’

Forty years on, the album holds its own as this most surreal detour for the band

Always the most controversial album in Motörhead’s catalogue, Another Perfect Day was up against it from the start. After former Thin Lizzy guitarist Brian Robertson replaced Fast Eddie Clarke, the band’s sixth studio album presented what Lemmy called a more “musical” approach, the classic line-up’s full-tilt ferocity harnessed to more traditional guitar rock tropes enhanced by carefully crafted production.

In 1983, it was initially startling to hear Lemmy and Phil’s patent hell-bound express draped in Robbo’s effects-laden multi-storey guitar overdubs instead of getting hot-wired by Eddie’s deceptively complex thermonuclear blues riffs and embellishments. Following the likewise lambasted Iron Fist and its reappraisal, Another Perfect Day stands before us forty years on from the turbulent time that spawned it as an inevitably divisive one-off chapter in Motörhead’s chaotic early history.

Forty years on, Another Perfect Day holds its own as this most surreal detour in Motörhead’s early roller coaster, deserving its reappraisal away from the heat of the moment when the classic lineup dissolved and Robbo joined the band.

To celebrate the 40th anniversary of this sixth record in the Motörhead album arsenal, it is being presented in new deluxe editions. There are hardback book-packs in two CD and triple LP formats, featuring an amplifier blowing remaster of the original album, previously unreleased demo bonus tracks and a previously unreleased, full concert recorded at Hull City Hall on 22nd June 1983, plus the story of the album and many previously unseen photos. There’s also a limited edition, blue and black swirl of the original standalone album.

See below for full details of the Another Perfect Day releases and be sure to visit for news and updates!

Original Another Perfect Day album

  1. Back At The Funny Farm
  2. Shine
  3. Dancing On Your Grave
  4. Rock It
  5. One Track Mind
  6. Another Perfect Day
  7. Off To War
  8. I Got Mine
  9. Tales Of Glory
  10. Die You Bastard

CD & Digital Bonus Tracks

  1. Turn You Round Again (I Got Mine, B-Side)
  2. Hoochie Coochie Man (Live, Shine B-Side)
  3. (Don’t Need) Religion (Live, Shine B-Side)
  4. Climber (Demo)
  5. Fast One (Demo)
  6. Chinese (Demo)
  7. Climber (Instrumental Demo)
    Live at Hull City Hall, 22nd June 1983
    (Previously unreleased)
  8. Back at the Funny Farm
  9. Heart of Stone
  10. Shoot You in the Back
  11. Marching Off to War
  12. Iron Horse / Born to Lose
  13. Another Perfect Day
  14. Hoochie Coochie Man
  15. (Don’t Need) Religion
  16. One Track Mind
  17. Go to Hell
  18. America
  19. Shine
  20. Dancing on Your Grave
  21. Rock It
    15.Bite the Bullet
  22. The Chase Is Better Than the Catch
Bass Magazine   By: Bass Magazine

If you're enjoying this story, please support Bass Magazine by making a donation!
You won't find this content anywhere else, and we have so much more coming soon.
A donation will help us continue to bring the future of bass to you, our beloved readers. Thank you!