Erick “Jesus” Coomes and Lettuce Announce New Album

The 11-song album, produced by Lettuce and recorded at Colorado Sound Studio

Erick “Jesus” Coomes and Lettuce Announce New Album

The 11-song album, produced by Lettuce and recorded at Colorado Sound Studio

Known for their incendiary live shows, extensive touring, die-hard fans, and massive two-decade-plus career, Lettuce is a powerhouse collective bringing forth a new vitality to classic funk music. Comprised of a stellar group of musicians – Grammy-nominateddrummer and percussionist Adam Deitch, guitarist Adam “Shmeeans” Smirnoff, bassist Erick “Jesus” Coomes, Grammy Award-winning keyboardist and vocalist Nigel Hall, Grammy Award-winning saxophonist Ryan Zoidis and Grammy Award-winning trumpet player Eric “Benny” Bloom – the members of Lettuce blend together their talents into a sound distinctly their own infusing psychedelic sonics, blissful grooves, jazz rhythms and hip-hop inspired beats. 

In addition to their work in Lettuce, the guys are highly sought-after musicians in hip-hop, pop and beyond. Adam Deitch, who is also a member of the electronic duo Break Science, has played/worked with everyone from John Scofield, Redman, 50 Cent, Talib Kweli, Justin Timberlake, Wyclef Jean/The Fugees, Derek Trucks & Susan Tedeschi, Matisyahu, and more. Erick “Jesus” Coomes, the spiritual heartbeat of Lettuce, is also a noted producer, who has worked with Kanye West (featured bass on “We Don’t Care” and the mega-hit “All Falls Down”), Dr. Dre, Eminem, DJ Quik, Anthony Hamilton, among others, and was a touring bassist for Britney Spears and The Game. Adam “Shmeeans” Smirnoff has toured the globe as the guitarist in Robert Randolph & The Family Band and Lady Gaga’s touring band, the latter of which found him opening the 2010 Grammy Awards performing with Sir Elton John. Shmeeans has also performed and/or recorded with Chaka Khan, Solange, Redman & Method Man, The Meters, and Robin Thicke, among others, and produced a song for rap legend KRS-One.Eric “Benny” Bloom is among the most diverse trumpet players, having played withSolange Knowles, Skrillex, Gary Clark Jr., Preservation Hall, Dave Matthews Band, Dr. John, Derek Trucks, Bob Weir, John Mayer, Taj Mahal, Chaka Kahn, Gov’t Mule, Aaron Neville and dozens of other accomplished artists. 

Nigel Hall was discovered by Lettuce co-founder Eric Krasno, who invited him to record with his jazz band Soulive and later began playing in the group as well as performing alongside The Roots drummer/co-founder Ahmir “?uestlove” Thompson. Ryan Zoidis has played with such legendary artists as Stevie Wonder, Chaka Kahn, Aaron Neville, Talib Kweli and more. Together, the members of Lettuce, “everyone’s favorite funk band” according to Red Bull Music, continue to earn their name as a can’t-miss live act and acclaimed masters of their craft. 

The 11-song album, produced by Lettuce and recorded at Colorado Sound Studio outside of Denver with legendary engineer Russ Elevado (D’Angelo, The Roots, Erykah Badu), features the first single, “Krewe,” and marks the band’s first taste of new, original music in three years and their sixth studio album overall. Elevate is a dynamic showcase of Lettuce’s ever-changing and all-inclusive musical palette. The genre-busting six-member funk/jazz/soul/jam/psychedelic/hip-hop/art-rock/ambient/avant-garde/experimental collective maintains its eclectic, free-wheeling approach while embracing a progressive and futuristic vibe, with elements of Pink Floyd, the Grateful Dead, Eno and Miles Davis, thanks to their love of improvisational music and arts. On Elevate, Lettuce explores its funk roots in the Tower of Power-like punch of “Ready to Live” (the cover of a song by Cold Blood’s Lydia Pense), the Prince-like swagger of “Royal Highness” and the OG blues-soul of “Love Is Too Strong,” while expanded trip-hop sounds of the space age audio-scapes like“Trapezoid,” “Gang 10” and “Purple Cabbage” show the influence of sax player Ryan Zoidis’ Korg X-911 synths and Nigel Hall’s Rhodes keyboards. In addition to focus tracks “Krewe”and “Everybody Wants to Rule The World” (their take on the Tears For Fears hit), other album highlights include guitarist Adam Smirnoff’s nod to Carlos Santana and Trey Anastasio on the Latin-flavored and playfully named “Shmink Dabby” and the Marcus King cameo vocal on the B.B. King/Al Green gospel blues of “Love Is Too Strong.” More information and full track listing below. 

Elevate Track Listing

1. Trapezoid

2. Royal Highness

3. Krewe

4. Shmink Dabby

5. Everybody Wants to Rule The World

6. Gang Ten

7. Ready To Live

8. Larimar

9. Love Is Too Strong

10. Purple Cabbage

11. Trapezoid Dub
Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | YouTube | Spotify

Bass Magazine   By: Bass Magazine