Cultura Tres Release New Album ‘Camino de Brujos’

The band is celebrating the release with the new single "Signs" (listen here)

Cultura Tres Release New Album ‘Camino de Brujos’

The band is celebrating the release with the new single "Signs" (listen here)

On April 7, via Outono Music/Universal Music in the Americas and Bloodblast in the rest of the world, Cultura Tres released their new studio album entitled “Camino de Brujos”. 

Preparing the ground for this moment, the band released the singles “The World and Its Lies”, “Proxy War” and “The Land”, which received great reviews from the public and the press specialized in heavy metal worldwide.

The full album is available on major audio platforms, and is also available in physical format. The new single is “Signs”, which has a music video available on the band’s YouTube channel.

Cultura Tres features the performance of none other than Paulo Xisto Jr., also bassist for Sepultura, in its line-up. “In 2019, after learning about the plans of the new Cultura Tres, I suggested to Ale and Juanma that I join the band. The music is very organic. There’s a lot of ’90s influence and a bit of hardcore too. Personally, I was inspired by the bass players I loved the most in the 1970s”, comments Paulo.

‘Camino de Brujos’ is an album that aims to evoke what the Metal genre seems to have left behind in recent decades: realism. The album tries to bring back the human factor in heavy music. From composition to production itself. No drum samples, no artificial performances, just raw and imperfect as part of the artistic expression that was done in the 90s.

Although ‘Camino de Brujos’ wholeheartedly embraces the vision of the 90s in music, it doesn’t just repeat what was made at that time. There are plenty of bold musical choices bending the edges of the genre that draw the listener on a new, dark and aggressive psychedelic journey.

Frontman Alejandro Montoya comments: “Something we learned from listening to Andy Wallace’s albums (he’s a God in our little world) is that if you can’t imagine the band playing while listening to a recording, then you’re just listening to a computer. We’re not interested in letting fans listen to a computer… We’d rather invite them to listen to four people playing their hearts out on one record. This album”.

So what should heavy South American music sound like nowadays? The answer is easy – just listen to “Camino De Brujos”, an album that explores new and old musical textures. Thrash, sludge and classic rock come together in the most realistic way.

“The title of the album ‘Camino de Brujos’ roughly translates as Path of the Witches. Remember the little story about letting your subconscious make artistic choices? Well, this is one of the best examples: ‘Camino de Brujos’ is the main line sung over a slow and uncomfortable riff, the song is filled with tribal ritual drumming, typical of South American black magic practices. The phrase not only ended up being the only lyrics sung in the song, but also gave the album its name and identity”, explains Alejandro.


1. The World and Its Lies

2. Time Is Up

3. Signs

4. The Land

5. Proxy War

6. 19 Horas

7. Zombies

8. De Maracay

9. The Smell of Death

10. Camino de Brujos


Alejandro Londono Montoya – vocals, guitar

Paulo Xisto Pinto Jr – bass

Juan de Ferrari Montoya – guitar

Jerry Vergara Cevallos – drums


Bass Magazine   By: Bass Magazine