Bernard Edwards and Chic Release Compilation ‘Rarities, Oddities, And Exclusives’

"Nile Rodgers' Signature Edition Remasters" Of CHIC's First Three Studio Albums

Bernard Edwards and Chic Release Compilation ‘Rarities, Oddities, And Exclusives’

"Nile Rodgers' Signature Edition Remasters" Of CHIC's First Three Studio Albums

A year after CHIC celebrated the 40th anniversary of its smash “Le Freak” and released their first new album in 26 years, It’s About Time, the band returns to the spotlight this year with new iconic and timeless reissues. At the same time, the legendary Nile Rodgers & CHIC are back on the road as part of Cher’s Here We Go Again tour in North America this spring and fall, and also headlining at the Hollywood Bowl with the Los Angeles Philharmonic for three nights on July 2-4. Nile Rodgers & CHIC will headline two shows at Hampton Court Palace in the UK on June 14 and 15. Rodgers will also serve as the guest curator of the Meltdown festival in London. The festival, which runs from August 3 to 11, is the longest running artist-curated festival in the world. 

The first new CHIC release is available now to download or stream. RARITIES, ODDITIES AND EXCLUSIVES picks up where last year’s The Chic Organization 1977-1979 boxed set left off with rare mixes and versions released over the years. It includes a 12″ remix of “Chic Mystique,” a #1 hit for the band in 1982; “Tavern On The Green” from the Soup For One Original Soundtrack, plus four remixes of “Le Freak” from 2014 by Chic & Aristofreeks.

On June 21, CHIC’s first three albums will be released individually on 180-gram vinyl. These versions of Chic, C’est Chic and Risqué feature the Nile Rodgers’ Signature Edition Remasters, which debuted last year as part of The Chic Organization 1977-1979 boxed set. Each album was remastered from the original Atlantic stereo tapes by Miles Showell at Abbey Road Studios. Rodgers served as executive producer and supervised the remastering with the approval of Bernard Edwards’ estate. To ensure exceptional sound quality, the albums were mastered at half-speed and pressed on 180-gram vinyl. 

Rodgers and Edwards famously formed CHIC in 1976 after Rodgers was inspired by seeing Roxy Music play live in London. A year later, the band signed with Atlantic Records where they helped define the pop and disco genres with unstoppable hits like: “Le Freak,” Atlantic Records’ biggest selling 7″ single of all time; “Good Times,” US Billboard Hot 100 #1, and Billboard magazine’s #1 soul single of 1979; “I Want Your Love,” “Everybody Dance,” “My Feet Keep Dancing” and “My Forbidden Lover.” 

After CHIC’s initial success, Rodgers and Edwards began making music for other artists as The CHIC Organization. One of their biggest successes was Sister Sledge’s third record, We Are Family. Released in 1978, it remains a classic album thanks to hits like “He’s The Greatest Dancer,” “Lost In Music,” “Thinking Of You” and the title track. Rodgers believes this is arguably the finest album he and Edwards wrote, produced and performed.

Rodgers’ work in the CHIC Organization and his productions for artists like David Bowie, Diana Ross, and Madonna have sold over 500 million albums and 75 million singles worldwide while his innovative, trendsetting collaborations with Daft Punk, Avicii, Sigala, Disclosure, and Sam Smith reflect the vanguard of contemporary music. 

For more information about CHIC: RARITIES, ODDITIES AND EXCLUSIVES, please contact Jason Elzy in the Rhino Media Relations Department at or 818-238-6220. 

For more information about Nile Rodgers & CHIC, please contact Fran DeFeo at


Track Listing

1. “Hangin'” – Single Edit

2. “Stage Fright” – Single Edit

3. “Tavern On The Green” – From Soup For One Original Soundtrack

4. “Everybody Dance” – MOTIVA RPL MIX

5. “Good Times” – A Touch Of Jazz Mix

6. “Stage Fright” – Single Edit 

7. “Everybody Dance” – Edit

8. “I Want Your Love” – Stonebridge Mix

9. “Jack Le Freak”

10. “Megachic” (Medley: Le Freak-Everybody Dance-Good Times-Le Freak-I Want Your Love-Le Freak) – International Mix

11. “Chic Mystique” – 12″ Remix Extended Version

12. “Le Freak” – Aristo Classic Disco Mix

13. “Le Freak” – Aristo Filtered Disco Club Mix

14. “Le Freak” – Aristo Filtered Mainroom Mix

15. “Le Freak” – Aristo Mainroom Mix

16. “Back In The Old School”

17. “Back In The Old School” – Instrumental

Nile Rodgers’ Signature Edition Remasters 

180-Gram Vinyl 

Chic (1977)

A1. “Dance, Dance, Dance (Yowsah, Yowsah, Yowsah)”

A2. “São Paulo”

A3. “You Can Get By”

B1. “Everybody Dance”

B2. “Est-ce Que C’est Chic?”

B3. “Falling in Love with You”

B4. “Strike Up the Band”

C’est Chic (1978)

A1. “Chic Cheer”

A2. “Le Freak”

A3. “Savoir Faire”

A4. “Happy Man”

B1. “I Want Your Love”

B2. “At Last I Am Free”

B3. “Sometimes You Win”

B4. “(Funny) Bone”

Risqué (1978)

A1. “Good Times”

A2. “A Warm Summer Night”

A3. “My Feet Keep Dancing”

B1. “My Forbidden Lover”

B2. “Can’t Stand to Love You”

B3. “Will You Cry (When You Hear This Song)”

B4. “What About Me?”

Bass Magazine   By: Bass Magazine

If you're enjoying this story, please support Bass Magazine by making a donation!
You won't find this content anywhere else, and we have so much more coming soon.
A donation will help us continue to bring the future of bass to you, our beloved readers. Thank you!