Skip to main content

It's no secret that when legendary artist Prince passed away in 2016 he left behind a vast vault full of recording that were never before released by the prolific artist. Luckily for us, one of those albums is seeing the light of day. Welcome 2 America was recorded in the spring of 2010 when Prince enlisted bass phenom Tal Wilkenfeld to record on the material.

Photo by Kory Thibeault

Photo by Kory Thibeault

Along with Wilkenfeld, the album features Chris Coleman on drums, New Power Generation singers Shelby J, Liv Warfield and Elisa Fiorillo, and keyboardist Morris Hayes. Now the album is seeing the light of a day with a July 30th release and with an early unveiling of the title track featuring Tal's playing.  

Of her recording experience with Prince, Tal, who played her Sadowsky 4-string J-Bass on the sessions, told our Editor-at-Large, Elton Bradman, "When we were recording, Prince gave me the freedom to express my own voice on his new songs, rather than spelling out how or what he wanted me to play.”

Recorded in 2010 and then mysteriously archived by Prince before its release, the statement album Welcome 2 America documents Prince’s concerns, hopes, and visions for a shifting society, presciently foreshadowing an era of political division, disinformation, and a renewed fight for racial justice. The album features some of Prince’s only studio collaborations with the bassist Tal Wilkenfeld, drummer Chris Coleman, and engineer Jason Agel, with additional contributions from New Power Generation singers Shelby J, Liv Warfield, and Elisa Fiorillo and keyboardist Morris Hayes, who Prince also recruited to co-produce the album.

The Deluxe Edition of Welcome 2 America combines the 2LP and CD versions of the album with a never before released Blu-Ray of Prince’s full April 28, 2011 performance at the Forum, part of the Welcome 2 America Tour’s historic 21 Nite Stand in Los Angeles. The show is presented in stereo, 5.1 surround and Dolby Atmos, and includes 24 tracks from across Prince’s career, from his biggest hits to fan favorites to ten rare covers. In addition, the deluxe edition features a 32 page 12x12 book, exclusive poster and an embossed vellum envelope of limited edition memorabilia all housed in a luxe, gold embossed package. Experienced as a complete package, the Deluxe Edition provides an immersive view of Prince’s creative genius during his spontaneous, energetic, and thought-provoking Welcome 2 America era.

Release date July 30th, 2021 

Album Tracklist

Welcome 2 America
Running Game (Son Of A Slave Master)
Born 2 Die
1000 Light Years From Here
Hot Summer
Stand Up And B Strong
Check The Record
Same Page, Different Book
When She Comes
1010 (Rin Tin Tin)
One Day We Will All B Free

Pre-Order the Album: Here

For More on Tal: Click Here

Follow Tal: Here