Skip to main content

If you find yourself looking for peace, Strata is a good place to start. In their musicianship Skúli Sverrisson and Bill Frisell are twin souls, whose playing is so complementary that it's remarkable that this is their first time recording together. Strata is a hypnotizing album.  

Speaking on their collaboration Frisell remarks, "Skúli was tapped in to something I dream of. When we did the recording, it took it to 100%. It felt like something that was in my imagination, but even deeper and further.” 

Frisell and Sverrisson

Frisell and Sverrisson

Strata features ten original compositions by Sverrisson. Skúli is a prodigious composer, and can write music of startling complexity. Here, the songs have a fairy tale simplicity that almost belies their depth. With Skúli and Bill there’s a shared internal language that produces a sense of inevitable logic — hypnotizing and surreal.  

Recorded by Marc Urselli at the esteemed EastSide Sound studio in New York City, Strata has been produced to the exceptional audio standard for which Newvelle Records is renown. This album captures the transportive and sacred nature of the recording session itself.

Strata was previously released exclusively on vinyl as part of a Newvelle Records limited-edition Season Three box set, which sold out in record time. This release will be the first time Strata is available digitally on streaming platforms and for high quality digital download. 

Side A:

  1. Sweet Earth (2:26)
  2. Instants (5:15)
  3. Vanishing Point (2:57)
  4. Ancient Affection (3:57)
  5. Came to Light (3:56)

Side B:

  1. Cave of Swimmers (2:59)
  2. Amedeo (4:06)
  3. Afternoon Variant (5:13)
  4. Segment (3:06)
  5. Her Room (3:50)

For More: Click Here