Skip to main content

Today, NPR Music released Chris Dave and the Drumhedz’s Tiny Desk Concert with special guest Elzhi. In the Tiny Desk’s write up, NPR Music said the set features “sonic smash-cuts between the musical ideas whisk away the misconception you're in control of the ride you're about to take.” Drummer and bandleader Chris Dave has worked with everyone from Adele to Justin Bieber, and Rick Rubin to D’Angelo — Questlove once described Chris as his “worst nightmare” and Rolling Stone named him one of the 100 Greatest Drummers of All Time.

 Watch the Tiny Desk Concert here:

Alongside Elzhi performing his verse from Slum Village’s single “Tainted” and a new unreleased Drumhedz track titled “Sounds in the City,” the songs performed in the Tiny Desk Concert are from Chris Dave and the Drumhedz’ 2018 debut self-titled album. Released via Blue Note / GLOW 365, Chris Dave and the Drumhedz was GRAMMY-Nominated for Best Urban Contemporary Album, and earned praise from NPR Music, The New York Times, Billboard, Uproxx, Okayplayer, BrooklynVegan, and Afropunk. In addition to Elzhi, guests on the album include Anderson .Paak, SiR, DJ Jazzy Jeff, Bilal, Phonte, and Anna Wise. Chris Dave and the Drumhedz comes from a place with no genre, where elements of funk, soul, gospel, hip-hop and jazz mix until they're an indistinguishable surging mass of solid groove.

Listen to the album here:

From 2009 to 2014, Chris worked on four GRAMMY-winning albums: Maxwell's BLACKsummers’night, Adele's 21, the Robert Glasper Experiment's Black Radio, and D’Angelo’s Black Messiah — in the personnel credits for those LPs, you'll find the foundation of the Drumhedz. Lately, Chris Dave has been stepping further into the world of production. He produced the song “Trippy (feat. J Cole)” from Anderson .Paak’s recent album Oxnard, and he has plans to produce entire albums for other artists in the near future.

Stay tuned for new Drumhedz music and tour dates announcing later this year.

Follow Chris Dave:

Website - Facebook - Twitter - Instagram

Tiny Desk Personnel:

Chris Dave - Drums

Thaddaeus Tribbett - Bass

Daniel Crawford - Keys

Frank Moka - Percussion

Isaiah Sharkey - Guitar

Tom Ford - Guitar

Aaron Camper - Drumhed Vocals

Kebbi Williams - Sax

Elzhi - Special Guest

Jae Barber - Drumhedz Management

Tiny Desk Set List:

“Black Hole”

“Whatever (featuring Elzhi)”

“Tainted Love (featuring Elzhi)”

“Sounds in the City (featuring Elzhi)”

“Clear View”

“Job Well Done”