Skip to main content

Detroit bassist Brandon Rose is releasing his debut album, Transition, on June 19th. The rising doubler is a 2020 graduate of Michigan State University, where he studied with Rodney Whitaker. Via the additional guidance of bassists like Marcus Miller, Robert Hurst, Ralphe Armstrong, Rufus Reid, and the late James Jamerson Jr., Rose has amassed credits with such artists as Mark Whitfield, Russel Malone, Kenny Washington, Etienne Charles, Michael Dease, and Xavier Davis.


Of his deep-pocketed debut, Brandon offers, “The concept behind the album was finding a positive way to use the quarantine time to be creative. Each song was composed and produced by me during a span of 14 days, drawing on musical influences from my mentors and my love for R&B, soul, hip hop, and straightahead jazz.” The 10-track disc features Poogie Bell on drums, 13-year-old phenom and Shanachie recording artist Justin-Lee Schultz, and 2019 Jack Rudin Competition Soloist award-winner Sequoia Snyder on keyboards, Luke Sittard and Ari Teitel on guitar, 2020 International Trumpet Guild Jazz Competition winner Evan Taylor on trumpet, and saxophonists Grant Teeple and Markus Howelle. For every copy sold, Rose is donating a portion of the proceeds to the Black Lives Matter Global Network.

Check out the uplifting anthem, “It’ll Be Alright”

Order the album HERE

Listen to the album: HERE