Skip to main content

Dutch bassist Jeroen Paul Thesseling (OBSCURA, QUADVIUM, ex-PESTILENCE), known for his signature fretless playing in death metal and world fusion, will handle bass duties for the Italian progressive death metallers SADIST on their ninth studio album. The full-length is titled 'Firescorched' and expected to be released next year. Formed in 1991 and renowned for their progressive death oriented productions 'Above the Light' (1993), 'Tribe' (1995) and 'Crust' (1997), SADIST split up after releasing 'Lego' (2000) but reunited again in 2005. Thereafter the group released a self-titled album 'Sadist' (2007), followed by 'Season in Silence' (2010), 'Hyaena' (2015) and 'Spellbound' (2018). Their compositions involve heavy usage of guitar and keyboard solos, with jazz and Middle Eastern influences.


SADIST line-up:

Trevor - vocals

Tommy Talamanca - guitar, keyboards

Jeroen Paul Thesseling - bass

Romain Goulon - drums

Earlier this year Thesseling rejoined the German progressive death metal outfit OBSCURA after a nine-year break. He appeared on the band's full-length albums 'Cosmogenesis' (2009) and 'Omnivium' (2011), both released via Relapse Records. The group is currently working on their upcoming sixth full-length album which will be produced by Fredrik Nordström and released in 2021 via Nuclear Blast. Founded in 2002, OBSCURA established its reputation by releasing five studio albums which have been highly acclaimed by fans and press alike, accompanied by playing support tours as well as their own headline shows all around the globe.

OBSCURA line-up:

Steffen Kummerer - guitars, vocals

Christian Münzner - guitars

Jeroen Paul Thesseling - bass

David Diepold - drums

Further information about Jeroen can be found at and