Skip to main content

AgapeSoul has teamed up with the legendary soul and jazz singer Maysa Leak to bring you a vibrant breath of fresh air just in time for Spring! From the bold opening bass line, the title track from the upcoming EP "Nobody But You" offers a funky, feel-good groove topped with Maysa's smooth as melted butter vocals to paint a picture of genuine, grown up, enduring love.

AgapeSoul creator Darryl Anders says "I have been a huge fan of Maysa from the moment I heard Incognito's classic 'Deep Waters.' Working with her is a dream come true."

The track "Nobody But You" is Anders' first collaboration with songwriter/producer Sundra Manning (Ledisi). Starting with an unfinished song that sat for years in a box of cassettes, Sundra flipped it and gave it a classic R&B feel. The music is a reflection of the song's lyrics with all the joy, love and excitement one gets from a true love.

Anders with his Stenback Bass 

Anders with his Stenback Bass 

Once again, Anders brings together a stellar group of players to illustrate his musical vision. Despite being in the middle of a global shutdown, they found new ways to get it done. The musicians each recorded their parts in their own studios and sent the tracks back to the lab where Anders put it all together with longtime AgapeSoul co-producer and engineer Cam Perridge. "Covid has changed the way we make music and intensified the need for creatives to create," Anders says "Having players that can bring the music to life in this way is a testament to their craft."

New to the AgapeSoul family is L.J. Holoman (Mary J. Blige, Joss Stone) on keys and Aaron Haggerty (Al McKay and the L.A. Allstars, Eric Gales) on drums, joined by regular contributors Errol Cooney (Stevie Wonder, Janet Jackson) on guitar and Sara Williams (Ledisi) on background vocals. "Nobody But You" is a song you will want on endless repeat as you will find something new to love every time you hear it.

For more on Anders and AgapeSoul: Click Here

Follow AgapeSoul: Here